Schedule your class   Schedule >

CompTIA Security+ (Exam SY0-501)dod approved

Course Length: 5 days

Certification Newsletter 


Course Description

Welcome to CompTIA Security+ SY0-501. This course provides the basic knowledge needed to plan, implement, and maintain information security in a vendor-neutral format; this includes risk management, host and network security, authentication and access control systems, cryptography, and organizational security. This course maps to the CompTIA Security+ certification exam. Objective coverage is marked throughout the course.



CompTIA Security+ maps to exam SYO-501 validating your knowledge of network security, compliance and operations security, threats and vulnerabilities as well as application, data and host security. Also included are areas of control, identity management and cryptography.

CompTIA has announced an upgraded and revised Exam SYO-501 effective October 2017.  Exam SYO-401 will be retired July 2018



Basic windows user skills. CompTIA A+ and CompTIA Network+.


Course Outline

  1. Security Fundamentals
    1. Security concepts
    2. Risk management
    3. Vulnerability assessment
  2. Understanding attacks
    1. Understanding attackers
    2. Social engineering
    3. Malware
    4. Network attacks
    5. Application attacks
  3. Cryptography
    1. Cryptography concepts
    2. Public key infrastructure
  4. Network fundamentals
    1. Network components
    2. Network addressing
    3. Network ports and applications
  5. Securing networks
    1. Network security components
    2. Transport encryption
    3. Hardening networks
    4. Monitoring and detection
  6. Securing hosts and data
    1. Securing data
    2. Securing hosts
    3. Mobile device security
  7. Securing network services
    1. Securing applications
    2. Virtual and cloud systems
  8. Authentication
    1. Authentication factors
    2. Authentication protocols
  9. Access control
    1. Access control principles
    2. Account management
  10. Organizational security
    1. Security policies
    2. User training
    3. Physical security and safety
  11. Disaster planning
    1. Business continuity
    2. Fault tolerance and recovery
    3. Incident response


Schedule your class   Schedule >